STROUD DISTRICT COUNCIL



Council Offices • Ebley Mill • Ebley Wharf • Stroud • GL5 4UB Telephone 01453 766321

www.stroud.gov.uk

Email: democratic.services@stroud.gov.uk

13 March 2024

Agenda Published: 13 Mar 2024

ENVIRONMENT COMMITTEE

A meeting of the Environment Committee will be held on <u>THURSDAY</u>, <u>21 MARCH 2024</u> in the Council Chamber, Ebley Mill, Ebley Wharf, Stroud at <u>7.00 pm</u>

1020 Leavy

Kathy O'Leary Chief Executive

Please Note: The meeting is being held in the Council Chamber at Stroud District Council and will be streamed live on the Council's <u>YouTube Channel</u>. A recording of the meeting will be published onto the <u>Council's website</u>. The whole of the meeting will be recorded except where there are confidential or exempt items, which may need to be considered in the absence of press and public.

If you wish to attend this meeting, please contact democratic.services@stroud.gov.uk.

This is to ensure adequate seating is available in the Council Chamber.

AGENDA

1. APOLOGIES

To receive apologies for absence.

2. DECLARATION OF INTERESTS

To receive declarations of interest.

3. MINUTES (Pages 5 - 10)

To approve the minutes of the meeting held on 7 December 2023.

4. PUBLIC QUESTIONS

The Chair of the Committee will answer questions from members of the public submitted in accordance with the Council's procedures.

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT OF QUESTIONS Noon on Friday, 15 March 2024

Questions must be submitted to the Chief Executive, Democratic Services, Ebley Mill, Ebley Wharf, Stroud and can be sent by email to Democratic.services@stroud.gov.uk

5. MEMBER QUESTIONS

See Agenda Item 4 for deadlines for submission.

6. BUDGET MONITORING REPORT Q3 2023/24 (Pages 11 - 20)

To present the 2023/24 forecast outturn position against the revenue budgets and Capital Programme that the Committee is responsible for, in order to give an expectation of possible variances against budget

7. <u>2030 ANNUAL REPORT (Pages 21 - 54)</u>

To present the 2030 (Climate Change and Sustainability) Annual Report for 2023-24 for approval.

8. GRASS CUTTING AND MEMORIAL PLAQUES (Pages 55 - 72)

To seek approval for an alteration to the grass cutting regime in the district and to formalise a process for the installation of memorial plaques.

9. <u>SEVERN ESTUARY SPECIAL PROTECTION AREA (SPA), SPECIAL AREA OF</u> CONSERVATION (SAC) & RAMSAR MITIGATION STRATEGY (Pages 73 - 126)

To approve the Severn Estuary Recreation Mitigation Strategy for avoidance of likely significant adverse effects on Special Protection Area (SPA), Special Area of Conservation (SAC) & Ramsar.

10. <u>BRIMSCOMBE AND THRUPP NEIGHBOURHOOD DEVELOPMENT PLAN:</u> <u>PROGRESS TO REFERENDUM (Pages 127 - 152)</u>

To inform councillors of progress regarding the Brimscombe and Thrupp Neighbourhood Development Plan (BTNDP) and progress to referendum following the recommendations laid out in the Examiner's Report.

11. <u>SLIMBRIDGE NEIGHBOURHOOD DEVELOPMENT PLAN: PROGRESS TO REFERENDUM (Pages 153 - 184)</u>

To inform councillors of progress regarding the Slimbridge Neighbourhood Development Plan (SNDP) and progress to referendum following the recommendations laid out in the Examiner's Report.

12. MEMBER / OFFICER REPORTS

- (a) Strategic Planning Advisory Board (verbal update)
- (b) Stroud Regeneration Committee (verbal update)
- (c) Performance Monitoring (Pages 185 206)
- (d) Climate Leadership Group (Pages 207 208)
- (e) Retrofit support for self-unding households Information Sheet (Pages 209 212)
- (f) Cotswold National Landscape Board Net Zero Pathway for SDC adoption Information Sheet (Pages 213 216)
- (g) Lower Severn Internal Drainage Board (Pages 217 218)

13. WORK PROGRAMME (Pages 219 - 220)

To consider the work programme.

Members of Environment Committee

Councillor Chloe Turner (Chair)

Councillor Martin Brown
Councillor Gordon Craig
Councillor Christopher Evans
Councillor Jessie Hoskin
Councillor Steve Hynd
Councillor George James

Councillor Robin Layfield (Vice-Chair)

Councillor Haydn Jones Councillor Ashley Smith Councillor Haydn Sutton Councillor Brian Tipper Councillor Tricia Watson